Welcome to my blog

So I thought I’d create a blog to give you an insight into my Apprenticeship and what I do as an Arts and Events Administrator. I’ve been an Apprentice working for Explore York for 5 months now and it has been an amazing experience so far. Ever since I have started there has always been something to do; whether that includes administration, supporting my colleagues with planning and putting together events, from event’s with children to author events and more.

When I first started my apprenticeship I was thrown in at the deep end; to me this was an important part of my apprenticeship and it meant that I learnt a lot of information of the way the organisation works and I got to know a lot of the staff all at once. I may have been thrown in at the deep end but I think that’s the best way to go.

So, I said I have helped out with different events and this covers a wide range of people at the same time:

  • On the second day into my apprenticeship I took part in an pop up animation studio for the Summer Reading Challenge – I was working with 10 children between the ages of 9 and 12. This gave me a big insight into some of the workshops they do and the way they like to work with other organisations to build up partnerships.
  • Then there’s The Summer Reading Challenge (SRC) – this is a national event which allows children between the ages of 4 to 11. The Reading Agency decide what the theme will be each yeah and work with Libraries all over the UK to entice more children to read during the summer holidays..
  • The Big City Read (BCR) is also a big event; this event works to try and allow more adults to read. For this event the Library orders 5000 books to give away to the public for free; there are then a range of different events which that adults can attend which are linked into the themes of the book chosen.
  • I have also helped to organise and set up 2 different art exhibitions in the main York Library; the first is called the “Tiger Moths and Memories” where over 1000 Tiger Moth’s were created in different workshops by a range of different people which created a beautiful exhibitions on the walls of the café. The current exhibition is called “Sports: A level playing field”; there is an art installation created by Ross Georgeson to express how those with a disability can take part in different sports no matter what their circumstances are.

There are many other events that I have helped to organise such as:

  • Pockets of Light  – Illuminating York Festival
  • Pop up Cinema – Celebrating the  pop up animation studio for the Summer Reading Challenge
  • The staff conference

There are also many event’s coming up over the next year which I will be helping to organise such as:

  • YARN
  • Pop up animation studio
  • Muse Hack
  • Arts in Residence
  • Layers upon Layers

And so many more.

I best say bye for now, but keep a look out for my next update.

Leave a Reply

